Liaison Committee

Students participate in the business of the Political Science Department through the Liaison Committee (LC).  Comprising five senior and five junior majors, elected every September, the committee gives voice to student ideas, initiatives, and concerns–including concerns about particular faculty members in the Department.

LC members do three main kinds of work over the course of the academic year.  First, they attend department meetings when issues of direct concern, such as the curriculum or major requirements, are discussed.  Second, during years when the department conducts one or more searches for new faculty members, LC members attend each candidate’s job talk, take the candidate to coffee (without department faculty around), and report to the department, formally, on their views of the candidates’ strengths and weaknesses. Third, LC members take charge of organizing common events for majors during the year, especially during spring registration season.  These have included drinks-and-food events at Paresky for students and faculty.

Members must be in residence for the entire academic year in which they serve.

The following students have been elected to serve on the Liaison Committee for 2019-2020:

  • Nicholas Goldrosen
  • Malia Hamilton
  • Solly Kasab
  • Rashad Morrison
  • Aiyana Porter
  • Hadiqa Raraz
  • Fred Wang
  • Alice Westerman
  • Samuel Wolf
  • Aija Zamurs

If you have ideas or concerns, please contact them.